The Lithium-Ion Battery Wins the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Prize founder Alfred Nobel, a Swedish industrialist who invented dynamite, decided the physics, chemistry, medicine and literature prizes should be awarded in Stockholm, and the peace prize in Oslo.

Three scientists on Wednesday were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their contributions to the development of lithium-ion batteries, which have reshaped energy storage and transformed cars, mobile phones and many other devices in an increasingly portable and electronic world.

The Royal Swedish Academy has decided to award the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry jointly to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

The three researchers will get equal shares in the prize, worth 9 million Swedish kronor (US$910,000).Lithium-ion batteries, which are rechargeable, play an incredibly important role in modern society.

“Lithium ion batteries have revolutionized our lives and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles,” tweeted the committee.’

At 97 years old, Goodenough, the Virginia H. Cockrell Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, is the oldest laureate to have ever been awarded a Nobel Prize.

Whittingham is a Distinguished Professor at Binghamton University, State University of New York and Yoshino is a professor at Meijo University in Japan and an honorary fellow at Asahi Kasei Corporation.

Related posts